Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last week was three weeks since my first visit for an IPL (Intense Pulsed Light) Skin Rejuvenation treatment.  It was just getting to the point at three weeks when I felt like the treatment may have made my pigmentation slightly worse, with no change to major spots and I felt a bit discouraged.  I think these treatments require patience and perseverance to achieve results.

I have acquired a fair amount of visible pigmentation spots than a normal person at my age due to a Vitamin D deficiency I’ve had for a few years (result of coeliac disease).  My last Vit. D test at the beginning of this year finally indicated it was back in normal range after taking Vitamin D 3000IU per day for a very long time.  I decided to try the IPL skin rejuvenation treatment as it seemed to meet my needs in terms of affordability, pain factor, recovery time and results, and I want the best skin possible for my wedding day.

Today was my second visit for a treatment, and four weeks since my first visit.  The lovely owner of Light Aesthetics Skin & Body Clinic, Erin is taking me through the treatments with great care and efficiency.  Firstly, Erin applies a cleansing gel and then removes it to cleanse the face.  I’m given a pair of small close fitting goggles to wear over my eyes and then Erin applies a cooling gel to my face.  During the treatment, Erin gently applies the smooth, crystalline surface of the IPL handpiece to the skin and it makes a clicking-snap sound whilst light is delivered to the skin surface in precise pulses that are virtually pain-free.  Erin does a few extra pulses on my darker spots.  I personally think waxing is more painful than this, you can read how I went with my first IPL Hair Removal treatment and I talk more about the pain factor,  but everyone’s tolerances are different.

Today we discussed that the pigmentation had become slightly darker and that not much had happened yet.  Apparently the first treatment is not as strong and well not as effective.  Today’s treatment was more intense in strength but very manageable, and with all the wedding banter between us, before I knew it the treatment was over.  Erin applies a cooling gel to finish the treatment.  When I get back to the car I apply SPF 30+.  Initially for a few hours my skin feels warm and a tiny bit red, Erin recommends keeping your skin cool.  I can already see this evening some of my pigmentation has darkened further so I feel slightly apprehensive about this.  I am hoping that in the next 3-4 weeks some of the pigmentation improves.  If I don’t see any improvement, I think I need to discuss with Erin if we should continue.  I’ll keep you posted!

I’m using a product called Oxygenating Sensitive Skin Cream from my favoured skin care range, Pevonia Botanica, which is particularly suited to this type of treatment;

“Alleviate and repair! This calming and desensitizing triphase homogenized cream is ideal for hypersensitive skin. Gently effective, Oxygenating Sensitive Skin Cream with antioxidants and UV protection, combines Epaline®, Shea Butter, Arnica, and Vitamin C, to alleviate blotchiness, dilated capillaries, and microcirculation problems. Ideal for post-dermabrasion, acid peels, and laser resurfacing.”

I am also using their Soothing Propolis Concentrate which is a lightweight serum from their Sensitive Skin line and helps to promote healing and decongestion.  This was prescribed by my therapist at my regular spa salon.

I combine this with Medicalia tinted sunscreen SPF 30 from their Sun-Line and Invisible Zinc Face and Body Sunscreen SPF 30+.  Both offer UVA and UVB protection but the latter is barrier mineral based.  I wear either of these when I go outside, depending on the activities.  It is essential to use a minimum SPF 30 when receiving this type of treatment to avoid burning and increasing your pigmentation, not to mention aging your skin in general.  I wear SPF as a daily habit now and continue to take Vit D 1000IU every day to maintain my levels.  Hopefully this balanced approach will ensure I stay healthy inside and out.

I am still on the hunt for the perfect daily moisturiser with SPF 15+ for indoors, so expect some reviews in that area in the future.

I am visiting Light Aesthetics Skin & Body Clinic located in Southern River, Western Australia, at my own cost.

Read my IPL Skin Rejuvenation progress update here.

Reference: Pevonia

post_sign_off_heart

