Tags

, , , , , ,

I realised I had to make a decision about gifts because I needed to organise wording for my wedding stationary.  I had to decide whether we wanted a wishing well, a gift registry, both or none for our cocktail wedding reception.  Initially I was so against gifts at all because we are eloping that I was going to put ‘no gifts please’ or something to that effect on our invitations.  It seemed unfair to guests when we weren’t having a traditional style wedding.

My friends soon talked me around to the fact that some people will buy a gift anyway, because they really want to, and so as my plans have progressed I have changed my mind and I think most people will be happy to see gift information.

We are on honeymoon immediately after the elopement, so we can’t ask guests to give a wishing well donation for that, so instead we’re asking for a contribution to our overseas travels next year instead.

I can’t decide between this poem;

Many of our guests have enquired
For a gift idea to be inspired
If you would like to give, it is our request
For something for our travel chest
A gift of money you can afford
Is just what we need you can be assured
We wish to travel after this day
Please help to send us on our way
At the party look for a beautiful birdcage
To place the gift, it sets the stage
Please do not be offended by this type of request,
Our day is complete having you as our guest.

or these less formal words;

Your love and company at our wedding celebration
is the most special gift we could receive.  
Should you still wish to honour us with a wedding gift,
a contribution to our travel wishing well
at the reception would be warmly received.  
This will be a great way to help send us travelling overseas
to Europe in 2012.  We look forward to celebrating with you!

Which one do you like best?

If you are keen on a wedding gift registry visit my post Wedding Gift Registries.

post_sign_off_heart

