Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The man and I decided that even though we are eloping, we would still like a wedding cake.  It’s quite funny, the man has proved to be more traditional in his wedding tastes than I could have known, so be brave girls and don’t afraid to get your man involved.  His feedback could be a helpful surprise.

Initially the cake I chose was something I thought he would like.  I don’t know why I thought about it this way, but I think I just wanted to incorporate things he likes.  Big Fail!  I showed him the picture (after sending it to our cake maker and ordering) and he didn’t like it.  He said it wasn’t very “weddingy”.  Even though he loves Lavender and we grow Olives and Lavender, I think it was basically too rustic.  Lovely for a farm wedding.  I still love it.

Lavender and Olive Cake

Credit: youaremyfaveparties, via waitwhatwhere

So then I found what is basically a similar style of cake, circular swirl icing, but the decorative styling suits our romantic theme.  I wanted to keep it pretty but simple.

We’re having a petite 2 tier cake (6″ & 4″ with each tier consisting of 2 cakes for height) with the bottom tier being gluten free choc hazelnut and the top tier gluten free almond & orange liqueur with white buttercream swirl icing.  Yum.  I chose Gaye at Wise Choice Cakes to bake it.  Gaye is the only cake maker I contacted who really embraced what I wanted.

Image #205358My styling interpretation of this is to have a few flowers, either peonies or roses and anemones on the top, and one open flower on the second tier in a similar position to the gold nuts in the picture.  We may incorporate a few Eucalyptus leaves and seeds as well if it works.

I have ordered the exact same milk glass cake stand from Sharnel Dollar Designs.  Sharnel was the woman behind the baby shower Oprah threw on her Australian tour for an Aussie fan.  The stunning stand is made in the USA by the famous Mosser Glass.  Donna Hay also stocks a milk glass stand but is out of stock in the large until at least October, and then delivery added to that was cutting it fine.  I wasn’t taking any chances.  I will always have fond memories when I use the cake stand in the future.

Image #205367

Cake and Macarons: Nine Cakes http://www.ninecakes.com/

I love it more and so does the man.

post_sign_off_heart

