Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the first to-do’s on my list when I became engaged was to start my own wedding planning files.

After looking around some stationery haunts I decided to DIY so I could get exactly what I wanted.  So here’s my step by step guide to creating some stylish, practical and budget friendly wedding files.

Step 1. You need 2 Lever Arch Ring Binder Files

Purchase or find two Lever Arch ring binders/files, with two hole rings is easiest.  Mine are from the Philosophy range available at Officeworks.  At the same time, pick up some protective sleeves and pockets for business cards, flyers and those little bits.

photo(1)

Step 2. Choose some file dividers

I chose two x Marbig A4 Coloured 10 Plastic Reinforced Tab Dividers in assorted colours.  The tab index page is printable on your computer.

Step 3.  download & Install a Font

Download your preferred font or use a standard font already in Microsoft© Word.  When you download a font, it is usually in a zip file format which you will need to unzip using some file compression software like Winzip or 7-Zip.  I used ‘English’ font which you can download from Dafont.

Dafont - English fontOnce you download your font, you will need to install it so that Microsoft© Word can use it.  How to do this varies depending on your operating system, so I suggest you google something like ‘Install font on Mac/Windows X’ or view this Microsoft Typography info for Windows 7, Vista and XP.

Step 4. Download & Personalise your Tab Index templates

The templates require that you have Microsoft© Word installed on your computer.  I personalised two of my own templates in Microsoft© Word (based on the Marbig template) which prints perfectly on the middle (second) line of each tab for the dividers used in Step 2.  The templates are fully editable word documents so you can change the font, categories and sizing.  Download my personalised templates below.

Divider Tabs_Template 1 Divider Tabs_Template 2

Step 5. Print your index

Print the personalised index templates on the A4 paper (selecting the “ignore” option when asked about margins being outside the printable area). You can use the index page that came with the Tab Dividers or you can print on any beautiful paper you like.  I stuck with the provided index page because the colours help you find the tab colour when they are hidden behind plastic insert pages.

printed file dividers

Step 6. Put it all together

Once you’ve put your index pages in, add some plastic sleeves and folders at the back of each file for storing business cards, flyers and info you will collect along the way.  Then it’s time to punch your papers and start filing!

Finished Files (1)

Congratulations on getting organised!

DIY project cost? $22.32

For two attractive and functional files I think this was a good value DIY project.

  • 2 x Philosophy Lever Arch File $4.00 (I think they were reduced – end of range)
  • 2 x Marbig Dividers A4 10Tab Colored $10.14
  • A4 Economy Sheet Protectors Pk20 $0.99
  • Binder Wallet A4 Clear Pk3 $7.19
  • All purchases from Officeworks, in Aussie dollars

post_sign_off_heart

