Tags

, , , , , , , ,

On Monday this week I visited Samantha Wynne, where I found my wedding dress.  I had to pay the balance owing on my dress, pick up my fascinator, get a swatch cut from the bottom of my wedding dress and book in my final fitting.

Now that I have a swatch of the dress colour, i’ve been able to start looking for wedding shoes.  Samantha had a beautiful pair of silver glittery ones with a bow on the toe, they were elegant and stunning without being gaudy.   I would have bought them on the spot but the heel was quite low and I really wanted some more height.  They reminded me of Dorothy’s red shoes in the Wizard of Oz, they were kind of magical looking.

What we did realise though when I had my dress on, was that white, cream, champagne and any shoes in that colour range are not suited to my dress.

I visited a few local shoe shops to see what I could find, and here’s my likes so far.

Novo Shoes have a range called Nina for Novo which are a special bridal collection and the standout shoe for me was Corvala, I tried it in Mushroom.  I think what I like about this shoe is that the heel is enclosed and there’s an ankle strap, so my foot is secure in the shoe.  The design is elegant with a twist having the tulle and jewel embellishment at the heel, it’s unique like my dress and the tulle ties in.   I am not 100% about the colour though.  How will I accessorise my clutch, etc with shoes in this colour?  Maybe because of the jewel embellishment  I can tie that in with a jewelled silver clutch.  Apparently they also come in black, so that could be the answer.  I might have to ring around the Novo stores and see who has it in black so I can see it on.  Samantha said to me that whilst black is a good option, choosing silver will be more dressy and special with my dress and I think I agree, but I guess it depends on what designs I choose as well.  Buying black means I will probably get a lot more future wear.

MCorvala_mushroom

Nina for Novo Bridal Collection: Corvala in Mushroom $129.95

Next up was Bowpeep at Betts.  The colour of these shoes in the picture is awful, it looks like a weird peach, in real life it’s a really pale coffee nude and matches my dress fairly well.  I found the left shoe around the toe uncomfortable and when 3 of the shop assistants buzzed around me and started to telling me things like their peep toe shoes hurt their feet (???) and showing me awful shoes for my ‘wedding’, I decided it was time to leave.  They come in Nude and Black and are well priced at $109.99.

Bowpeep Nude Angle Front  Bowpeep Nude Side Bowpeep Black Angle Front

Lastly, I found a pair I liked in Myer department store, from their ‘Collection’ range.

They are a nude satin with a black lace overlay, are super comfortable and have the exact heel height i’m after.   I tried a 7 1/2 B which is probably why they fit so well.  Sorry about the photos, taken on my iPhone.

photo(1)photo

I think these could be a classy way to wear black with my dress, and I have lace on the bodice, and the satin underneath is pretty much an identical match to my dress swatch (see right picture).  They have a special on at the moment, 50% off the second pair of equal or less value until Sunday 25th September, so I could get a cheap pair of Ipanema Gisele Bundchen sandals I’ve been eyeing for the honeymoon.

I’ve decided to try to avoid strappy heels, even though they’re my favourite style and I find them the most comfortable, I think it will be hard with them doing the ceremony in the forest and photo session at the beach, etc.  Bits of twig and sand will get into them more easily.

Unfortunately my shoes will be completely hidden under my dress so I need to consider that they aren’t a major influence on my overall look.

Maybe I can do a Kim Kardashian and have 3 pairs for the day! or not…

post_sign_off_heart

