Tags

, , , , ,

I did my first makeup trial back in mid June, mainly because when I contacted several makeup artists down south, many were already booked or on holidays for my day, so I felt I needed to get trials done then and book my artist asap.

Upon the recommendation of another Perth bride who wed down south, I booked my first trial with Lynette Nickell.  Lynette has over a decade of experience in the makeup industry, having worked and trained in makeup artistry for iconic brands as Christian Dior and Estee Lauder.  Lynette now works freelance in the Margaret River region, and travels to Bunbury, Busselton, Dunsborough, Yallingup, Margaret River and Augusta.

Lynette arrived at our chalet for the trial and I showed her a number of images I’d collected online on my laptop and we discussed the look I was after then Lynette started.  The general look I wanted to try was pale eyeshadow with a focus on defined eyes using eyeliner and pale neutral lips and I think Lynette did an excellent job translating my request.

These photos were taken outside, it was an overcast, rainy day;
Makeup trial one

These photos were taken inside;
DSCN3554

DSCN3555

I loved the foundation coverage and the lip colour – it lasted well for a gloss, it was a Napoleon Perdis product, when I have my next trial I will have more details.

I wasn’t sure about the eyeliner underneath my eyes, I felt like it was a bit too harsh maybe, but it certain angles and light it’s not as harsh.  I know with makeup for photos it needs to be heavier, but I just don’t want to look and feel too made up.

We didn’t worry about falsies for the trial, but i’m wearing some just on the last part of my lashes on my wedding day as mine are quite long anyway.  Lovely lashes from Wasp.

The man liked the overall look, he thinks i’m just not used to wearing such heavy eyeliner.

I have my second makeup trial with Lynette today, it probably seems odd to be doing a second trial and with the same makeup artist, but Lynette was fantastic, I was very happy with her technique and I booked her straight after the first trial.  With the second trial I just need to try some different looks, mainly with some eyeshadow, which I wear more often, eyeliner and maybe trialling a lighter eyeliner or application on the bottom.  I think we just need to keep checking the look as we go and tweaking it more if needed.

post_sign_off_heart

