Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

While I was hunting for wedding decorations I absolutely fell in love with garlands, and the choices were endless.

I wanted something rustic and romantic like this gorgeous hessian bunting I found on FollowStudio’s blog.

Rustic Hessian Bunting - Available soon

Follow Studio | Rustic Hessian Bunting $35 AUD (no daisies)

I adored this fabric flower garland from ashleymeaders on Etsy, it’s pretty pinks and softness is how I felt about my wedding day, but these weren’t the right choices for the decor of my cocktail party.

I decided to head in the direction of a paper based garland (goodbye fabric bunting) as it seemed to be a more affordable option and more suited to my party theming.  I turned to Etsy again for some inspiration and came up with some lovely options.

I loved this Eggplant love paperie a garland of hand cut hearts by Paper Polaroid on Etsy, it’s so unique and whimsical.

Eggplant love paperie a garland of hand cut hearts $18.00 USD

I also liked this simple garland of coloured circles from HeartandCrafts on Etsy.

Sunset Garland- 110 inches $11.00 USD

I had totally ruled out the use of Tissue Pom Poms, they were too large and the ceiling is so high at my venue you can’t even use a tall ladder, so hanging anything from the ceiling was completely ruled out.  Enter Garlands!

Whilst browsing on Etsy I came across this mini tissue pom pom garland kit made by Nai and sold through her PartyPoms shop.  They still have that softness, but with a party feel.

Cotton Candy - Party Pom Garland $20.00 USD

I needed a lot more poms than the 10 provided in the listed kits so I requested a quote for a custom order and went ahead with 10 metres (11 yards) of garland to hold 33 x 6″ mini poms in my theme colours, plum, lilac, white, island pink, light pink, dark pink, dark grey and dove grey.  The cost was $60.00 USD and $14 USD for postage to Perth, Western Australia.

Originally I had planned to string it along the main wall, but now that the tissue paper sunbursts have that spot, the garland is now my proposed DIY photobooth backdrop.  I plan to drape it multiple times across the brick wall on the terrace to create a garland zig zag effect.

post_sign_off_heart

