Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently received a pair of pure shampoo and conditioner complimentary from my favoured Salon & Spa – Museo, and I thought it’s time to start reviewing hair products.

photo‘Bath’ is the shampoo and ‘Rinse’ are the conditioners, it can get a bit confusing, you really have to check each one before you grab it and use it.  The range is colour coded and named for different needs, Divine in pale coffees for colour treated hair, Harmony in blues for damaged or long hair, Ever Blonde in purples for reducing gold/yellow tones and Satin Soft in Pinks for Dry, Frizzy or Dehydrated hair types.  The packaging is fabulous, very appealing, it fits perfectly on the bottom chrome rack shelf in the bathroom unlike most shampoos and conditioners which have to sit on the top shelf and at 5’2″ I’m reaching up, so I love the design of pure from that perspective.

All the pure products are sulphate, paraben and silicone free, and contain organic extracts and essentials oils.  The pure range is Australian owned and made, and I love that they use 12M plastic which ensures no nasties seep into your product.  pure is not tested on animals which is a must for me.

Adam, owner and chief hair man at Museo chose for me Divine Bath and Satin Soft Rinse.  I’ve been using the range now for 6 weeks and i’m really loving them.

Divine Bath is a shampoo that gently cleanses all coloured hair to reduce colour fade.  The primary targeted ingredients are Geranium and Acai oils, Panthenol (VitB5), Hydrolyzed Wheat and Milk Proteins and Rose Geranium oil.  Other extracts include Ginger, Nettle, Lavender, Rosemary, Thyme, Marshmallow, Apricot and Horsetail and Aloe Vera.

pure Divine Bath ingredients

pure Divine Bath ingredients

This shampoo doesn’t smell perfume pretty, it has a natural Geranium smell, it makes me think of Selsun – the dandruff shampoo.  The texture is lovely, creamy and shimmering and it works into a nice lather.

pure Divine Bath texture

pure Divine Bath texture

Satin Soft Rinse is an intensive conditioner for dry, frizzy or dehydrated hair to soften, strengthen and shine.  The primary targeted ingredients are Panthenol (VitB5), Hydrolyzed Wheat and Milk Proteins.  The large list of extracts include Ginger, Nettle, Lavender, Rosemary, Thyme, Marshmallow, Apricot, Horsetail, Aloe Vera, Argan oil, Ylang Ylang, Pink Grapefruit, Orange oils and Gardenia extract.

pure Satin Soft ingredients

pure Satin Soft ingredients

The texture is light and silky, and it distributed well through my long hair lengths.  It has a pretty floral smell with undertones of the Pink Grapefruit.

pure Satin Soft texture

pure Satin Soft texture

I’ve been washing my hair nearly every day since high school, as soon as the hormones hit it’s just been oily roots with a dry scalp, fighting off dandruff and trying to keep the length well conditioned and shiny.  In the last few years I’ve had to switch to products that had less nasties for health reasons and this introduced a new challenge of finding hair products that didn’t irritate, make my hair limp, dry and frizzy, etc.  Adam advised me to start using pure, only wash every two days but to shampoo twice if needed and condition the lengths only.

6 weeks on with 1 demi-colour treatment at the beginning of the 6 weeks, my hair is looking fabulous!  The oilyness in my roots has settled down considerably, I happily wash every 2 days now and only need to shampoo twice if I’ve had a lot of product in my hair.  My dandruff only appeared once in the 6 weeks and so a single wash with anti-dandruff shampoo was necessary, but this is fantastic as I normally use it 1-2 times per week, so once in 6 weeks is a major improvement.  I’ve had less scalp itch and dryness as well – I have been conditioning my scalp though every wash.  The length has been soft and shiny, I haven’t had to use extra conditioner like I normally would, the pure conditioners go a really long way, I’ve only just finished the Satin Soft Rinse and my hair is well below my shoulders, close to half way down my back.  With hair colouring, trials, the wedding, cocktail reception and a ball there has been lots of major hair styling and heavy product use so I’m impressed with how pure has kept my hair in excellent condition in the last 6 weeks.

I’ve just started using the Divine Rinse (Conditioner) for colour treated hair and it’s just as good as the Satin Soft, except in the frizz department, for that it’s just okay.

photo(1)

Divine Rinse (conditioner) contains very similar natural ingredients to the Divine Bath (shampoo).

pure Divine Rinse ingredients

pure Divine Rinse ingredients

The smell is yummy, it reminds me of Lime, I can’t quite work out what it’s from though.  All the product colours seem to match with the bottle colour.  I wonder if the Harmony ones have blue shampoo and conditioner.

pure Divine Rinse texture

pure Divine Rinse texture

On my last visit to Museo for a roots touch-up, 3 weeks ago, I purchased this beautiful pack for $51.95 containing a Divine Bath, Divine Rinse, Divine Ends which is a leave-in conditioning treatment containing goji berry oil which helps seal ends, locks in colour and protects against styling and UV damage, and a face washer.  I’ll review the Divine Ends in a separate review.  The pack is awesome value with the 300ml Shampoos and Conditioners retailing for $25.95 each at Museo or $24.95 each at Price Attack, the leave-in conditioner retails for $27.95 at Museo, so it’s free in the pack with the washer.  What a lovely gift for a friend or you could treat yourself like I did (I figured early Xmas gift to myself!).

photo(4)

I’m really enjoying the pure products and will continue using them, I’ll see how I feel about them after I finish this pack, but I highly recommend you give pure a try.

For more information about the pure products, visit the hairjamm website.

post_sign_off_heart

